凌驾于障碍之上的历史

Jason Docton

CEO及创始人

焦虑游戏的创始人Jason Docton在最低谷的时候,体重已经达到了97磅,已经48个月没有离开过自己的公寓。在经历了多年的努力和麻烦的童年后,他屈服于抑郁症、焦虑症和恐高症,使他无法离开公寓,导致他从医学预科学习中辍学。

正是通过游戏,一位玩家朋友向Jason请教如何应对抑郁症。然后又有一个人主动联系,想谈谈自己面临的焦虑。在虚拟人物的伪装下,真实的人在坦诚地谈论着他们所面临的心理健康问题。虽然受到自杀念头的困扰,但Jason告诉自己:"在我经历这些之前,我应该帮助别人。"事实证明,很多游戏同伴都需要帮助。人们会联系他说:"好吧,我们明天再谈吧。"于是,他第二天就得起来和他们谈。现在,Jason有了一个起床做事的理由--帮助别人。

帮助别人最终导致杰森开始寻找其他人来支付他们所需的治疗费用。当他开始每月收到560美元的残疾支票后,Jason开始为他所接触的低收入游戏玩家支付治疗费用,这些人如果没有经济上的帮助,就不会得到治疗。然后,Jason开始直接打电话给治疗师,与他们建立付款安排,并要求他们考虑在滑动规模上更低,这样他的资金就可以进一步延伸,帮助更多与他在线联系的玩家。

在Jason的努力下,Anxiety Gaming成立了一个501(c)(3)心理健康非营利组织,致力于教育和治疗游戏社区的心理健康问题。迄今为止,Anxiety Gaming已经帮助30000人通过接受治疗改善了他们的生活。2018年,Jason将组织重新命名为Rise Above the Disorder,以扩大他的使命,即为各种背景的人提供具有同情心和诚信的免费心理健康护理。

RAD的前身是焦虑游戏

2018年,"焦虑游戏"重塑品牌,更名为"Rise Above the Disorder"。
2013年1月
焦虑游戏的成立,是以帮助那些正在与心理健康作斗争的人为使命。
2016年3月
Anxiety Gaming举办了一场慈善活动--Legends vs. Dragons,Imagine Dragons对阵五大英雄联盟选手。筹集了超过12.5万美元,观众人数超过10万,这是多年来Twitch上最大的慈善活动。
2018年1月
焦虑症游戏公司改名为Rise Above the Disorder。RAD的成立是为了向各种背景的人提供帮助和健康。
2018年10月
RAD参加了TwitchCon,宣传心理健康知识。
2019年1月
发起了#你是RAD运动,并制作了标语,说明成为#RAD的理由。
2019年3月
RAD 義工計劃 Positivity Squad 的成立,是為了提供義工機會,幫助 RAD 社區建立正面的面貌。
MAY 2019
RAD借此机会开展了激动人心的运动,以提高人们对心理健康的认识。每天,RAD都会开展各种活动、运动和资源,让社区了解健康的重要性。

想了解更多关于RAD的信息?

订阅我们的电子报,以保持更新
谢谢您!您的提交材料已经收到您的提交已被收到!
糟糕!在提交表格时出了点问题。提交表格时出了点问题。

History of Rise Above The Disorder

Jason Docton

CEO & Founder

At his lowest point, Jason Docton, Anxiety Gaming’s Founder, had reached 97 pounds and hadn’t left his apartment for 48 months. After years of hard work and a troubled childhood, he succumbed to depression, anxiety and the agoraphobia which made it impossible for him to leave his apartment, resulting in him dropping out of his pre-med studies.

It was through gaming that a fellow player asked Jason for his advice on how to deal with depression. Then another reached out, wanting to talk about the anxiety they were facing. Under the guise of avatars, real people were talking candidly about the mental health issues that confronted them. Though plagued with thoughts of suicide, Jason told himself,“I should help people before I go through with this.”It turned out, lots of fellow gamers needed help. People would contact him and say “Well let’s talk more about it tomorrow,” and so he’d have to get up and talk with them the next day. Now there was a reason for Jason to get up and do something—to help others.

Helping others ultimately led Jason on a search to find others to pay for the treatment they needed. Once he started getting a $560 disability check each month, Jason began paying for therapy sessions for the low-income gamers he was in contact with, people who would have gone untreated without the financial help. Jason then started calling therapists directly, to setup payment arrangements with them and ask them to consider going lower on the sliding-scale so that his funds could stretch further and help even more gamers he was connecting with online.

As a result of Jason’s dedication and efforts to help fellow gamers, Anxiety Gaming was founded as a 501(c)(3) Mental Health Non-Profit, committed to educating and treating mental health issues within the gaming community. To date, Anxiety Gaming has helped 30,000 individuals improve their lives through the therapy they receive. In 2018, Jason re-branded the organization to Rise Above the Disorder to expand his mission of providing free mental health care with compassion and integrity to people of all backgrounds.

RAD was previously known as Anxiety Gaming.

In 2018, Anxiety Gaming re-branded to Rise Above the Disorder.
JANUARY 2013
Anxiety Gaming was found with a mission to help those
who are struggling with mental health.
MARCH 2015
Anxiety Gaming received a 501(c)3 status and is officially
recognized as a non-profit organization.
MARCH 2016
Anxiety Gaming hosted Legends vs. Dragons,a charity event, where Imagine Dragons faced against the top five League of Legends players. Over $125k was raised and had over 100k viewers, this being the largest charity event on Twitch for many years.
JANUARY 2018
Anxiety Gaming re-branded to Rise Above the Disorder.
RAD was established to offer help and wellness to people of all backgrounds.
OCTOBER 2018
RAD attended TwitchCon to spread awareness about mental health.
JANUARY 2019
Started the #YouAreRAD campaign and created signs to exemplify
reasons for being #RAD
MARCH 2019
RAD volunteer program, Positivity Squad, was established to give volunteer opportunities to help make a positive outlook within the RAD community.
MAY 2019
RAD took the opportunity to create exciting campaigns to bring awareness to mental health. Each day, RAD sets up activities, campaigns, and resources to engage the community about the importance of well-ness.

Want to learn more about RAD?

Sign up for our newsletter to stay updated!
Thank you! Your submission has been received!
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.